Corrected Chinese practice 2012-02-07

发现【fāxiàn】 find; discover (a fact or truth)
I have found something.
wǒ yǒu yī gè fā xiàn
我有一个发现

Did you find your book?
nǐ zhǎo dào nǐ de shū ma
你找到你的书吗?
(发现 is more like “find out” than “find”.)

Columbus discovered America.
gē lún bù fā xiàn le měi zhōu
哥伦布发现了美洲

字数 (zì shù) word count
Each sentence has the same number of words.
每一句的字数一般都一样
měi yī jù de zì shù yī bān dōu yī yàng

My essay must contain 1,000 words.
我的文章的字数必须有一千字
wǒ de wén zhāng de zì shù bì xū yǒu yī qiān zì

除了【chúle】 except; besides; in addition to.
Besides the Chinese language, I also study calligraphy.
除了汉语,我也学习书法
chú le hàn yǔ  wǒ yě xué xí shū fǎ

每句  [měi jù] each sentence
Each sentence has the same number of words.
每句的字数一般都一样
měi jù de zì shù yī bān dōu yī yàng

最后【zuìhòu】 final; last; ultimate.
The last word in the first sentence is not correct.
第一句的最后一个字是不对的
dì yī jù de zuì hòu yī gè zì shì bú duì de

共同点 [gòng tóng diǎn] common ground
Mayanne and I have common ground. We both want to learn Chinese.
mayanne和我有共同点。我们都想学汉语。
Mayanne hé wǒ yǒu gòng tóng diǎn  wǒ men dōu xiǎng xué hàn yǔ

押韵【yāyùn】 rhyme.
The last word in each sentence rhymes.
měi yī jù de zuì hòu yī gè zì yā yùn
每一句的最后一个字押韵。

好好 [hǎo hǎo] intensely
Study hard!
好好学吧!
hǎo hǎo xué ba

Work hard!
hǎo hǎo gōng zuò ba
好好工作吧

考试【kǎoshì】 examination; test.
You must attend this examination.
你必须参加考试。
nǐ bì xū cān jiā kǎo shì

We all took the same examination.
wǒ men dōu cān jiā xiāng tóng de kǎo shì
我们都参加相同的考试

按时【ànshí】 on time; on schedule.
We must be at class on time.
你必须按时上课
nǐ bì xū àn shí shàng kè

The plane arrived on time.
fēi jī àn shí dào le
飞机按时到了

古代【gǔdài】 ancient times; antiquity. (that which is not written today)
要求【yāoqiú】 ask; demand; require; claim.
This is a requirement of ancient poems
这是古代诗歌的要求
zhè shì gǔ dài shī gē de yào qiú

The Imperial Palace in Beijing is ancient.
北京的故宫是古代的。
běi jīng de gù gōng shì gǔ dài de
(The palace is not 古代  but the treasures inside are.)

The restaurant requires that you not smoke.
cān tīng yào qiú bù néng xī yān
餐厅要求不能吸烟。

About blueturtle7645

I love learning the Chinese language and reading about Chinese history and culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Corrected Chinese practice 2012-02-07

  1. handstitch says:

    Since this is dated, I’m sure you have gotten correction from your accredited teacher. Feel free to disregard my inputs 😀

    You are correct that 发现 means discover (verb) and can also be used “discovery” as a noun.

    If these two words stand alone, they have total different meaning:
    发: hair or “hit the jackpot”
    现: present (as in the moment)

    找到 means found or located; 找 however means find.
    你找到你的书吗? Did you find your book?
    我 在 找 我的書. I am finding (looking for) my book or I now find (look for) my book.

    For a long time, I was irritated by people’s usage between these two…like my native American friends would with me while learning American English LOL. They weren’t like me irritated but made fun of me (in a good, friendly way.)
    America: 美國 or 美洲
    Continent: 洲
    Country: 國

    Each sentence “has” the same number of words.
    每一句的字数一般 都 “是” 一样. “is” in this case “has”
    都 means all.
    To make it conversational, I would so
    每一句的字数 都 “是” 一样的. the last “的” doesn’t mean of. It serves an “accent.”
    一般: general (generally used in correct English grammar, of course.) Yes, the sentence implied such…but it’s safe to omit in a written form. It’s common to include in a conversation.

    我的文章的字数必须有一千字
    The second “的” in the sentence should be omitted. I can visualize you translating English word for word to a Chinese sentence. LOL I’ve been there except in reverse and can totally understand where you are coming from 😀
    I would also add 個 between 千字
    我的文章字数必须有一千個字
    個: is an article as in a, the in English grammar. Remember in Chinese, there is no singular or plural form.

    Besides the Chinese language, I also study calligraphy. 除了汉语,我也学习书法
    学习 means learning while 学 means learn. 除了 does mean besides. I’m accustomed to the sentence typical to say:
    除了汉语 “之 外”, 我 還(or 還有) 学”寫”书法. (removed 习 from 学习)
    I added 寫 because I imagine you want to learn also to write calligraphy and not just learn “calligraphy.” Make sense?

    The last word in the first sentence is not correct.
    第一句的最后一个字是不对的
    Alternate I use over 不对 (more formal/intellectual I guess): 不正確
    第一句的最后一个字是不正確的

    共同点 [gòng tóng diǎn] common ground
    Mayanne and I have common ground. We both want to learn Chinese.
    mayanne和我有共同点。我们都想学汉语。
    In Chinese, 我 comes before another person. So, I would say
    我和 Mayanne 具有 (or 有) 一個共同点. (一個 means one which is used as an article.)

    押韵【yāyùn】 rhyme.
    The last word in each sentence rhymes.
    měi yī jù de zuì hòu yī gè zì yā yùn
    每一句的最后一个字 ”是” 押韵。(是 typically means is. But in this sentence, it also serves as “does.“)

    好好 actually means very good. By itself, it does not mean “hard or intensely 強烈.” But in slang used in this sentence does imply “attentively.” This is a hard one, an exception. 吧 used here has no meaning, but, merely used as an accent, placing emphasis to the tone of the speaker.
    Study hard! 好好学吧!

    You must attend this examination. I added 这个 (this) to the sentence:
    你必须参加这个考试。
    We all took the same examination.
    我们都参加 “相同” or “同一个” 的考试

    We must be at class on time. I added “要” . Not sure how to explain this one to you. May be your teacher may. I am not translating from English meaning but rather than its implication “You have to be prompt to class.”
    你必须“要”按时上课
    The plane arrived on time. Instead of 到了,
    飞机按时 “抵达” or “到达”

    要求 would be more of a demand; 需求 require; 認領 claim (very similar to English, so close, yet there is a difference in each of the meaning.)
    This is a requirement of ancient poems
    这是古代诗歌的需求 (instead of 要求)

    The Imperial Palace in Beijing is (very) ancient.
    北京(no need for 的 here)皇宫 (not 故宫)非常古老 (rather than古代的)

    The restaurant requires that you not smoke. 2nd 要 I added “不 要” means not to. 能 is like the distinguish between “can” and “may” in English usage. A person certainly “can” smoke at a restaurant but “may he” or “will he” smoke is the question, right?
    餐厅 要求 你 不要 (not能) 吸烟

    • Sarah, thank you for your corrections. You are very helpful. As you might suspect, my biggest problem is pronunciation. Grammar is next.
      Learning Chinese is very hard for me, but it’s also a lot of fun.
      I’m glad you’re around to help me.

      Andy

      • handstitch says:

        I can picture the process and progress, dating back when I first tried to learn American English. It took me three times as long to speak ‘cuz I have to listen, translate from English to Chinese, think of what I was going to say, translate that from Chinese to English…The grammar, the exception, the exception to exception…Those were the “tough” old days 😀

        How long have you been studying Chinese, Andy? I don’t know exactly how many characters in Chinese but from a recent 30+ hours of movie I watched, it referenced 20,000? That’s a lot to take it and to be frequent. Someone told me once that it takes a year to learn and retain 500 words in the first year of study? Next year, 1000. And it takes a person who knows 5000 words to carry a conversation? I don’t know those trivia. I do hope you didn’t take my correction as offensive, Andy. It was actually fun as I went through them. Such a great reminder. There is no grammar in Chinese language. But, combination of words presenting different meanings makes the language a real challenge.

        Hope you had a good day of studying 😀 Looked like you moved around venues quite a bit through the day.

    • handstitch says:

      Sorry for the tyop, Andy. I meant to say distinguishing not “the distinguish”: 能 is like the distinguish between “can” and “may” in English usage. (See what happens when I translated Chinese to English LOL)

Leave a Reply

