Migrating to an iPad

When I study Chinese, I often like to type my notes on a computer and share them with my Chinese friends for their input.

I prefer to study away from home, because my parakeets interfere. (They always scold me when I try to pronounce Chinese words.)

Image

I like to study at coffee houses, because the clientele are sophisticated and fun to watch. I also love the smell of freshly brewed coffee.

My preferences are Barnes & Noble because of its convenience,

Image

Starbucks because I have a large credit on my Starbucks card,

Image

and Dudley’s, because they have great pastries.

Image

I tried studying at McDonalds, but the smell of cooking grease was not appetizing (although they do have great fresh coffee in the morning).  In addition, the clientele are not as much fun to watch as those customers in coffee houses.

My problem, however, was using my laptops in the coffee houses. 

Image

Both computers are old and extremely s-l-o-w.  More time was wasted on setting up the computers and actually studying.

Finally, I decided to try my wife’s iPad (with her permission, of course!).

Image

It’s a lot faster and lighter than my laptops.  I think I’ll use this from now on.

My Chinese teacher showed me how to modify the keyboard so I can type Hanzi.

Image

I then loaded Pages software onto the iPad so I could compose and send Chinese language documents.

Now my Chinese studies should be more productive.

Image

About blueturtle7645

I love learning the Chinese language and reading about Chinese history and culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Migrating to an iPad

  1. Moriya Chen says:

    I am very respect you who was tried his best to learning Chinese language.
    Chinese is very hard it isn’t just you but me too.
    I come from Chinese family but I also tried hard for proficient in Chinese.
    I am glad to see your blog.

    • Hello Moriya:
      Thank you for your kind words.
      Do you live in China?
      My tai chi friend is an American-born Chinese, and she also wants to be proficient. We take lessons from the same teacher.
      Our Chinese teacher, last week, she gave us two Chinese idioms:
      水滴石 穿

      shuǐ dī shí chuān 

      Dripping water pierces a stone.
      铁杵成针
      tiě chǔ chéng zhēn
      an iron rod becomes a needle
      Do you know, is my hanzi correct?
      Do you have a favorite Chinese idiom?

Leave a Reply

