Men in Groups

Whenever I go to a bookstore or coffee shop, I notice that most of the occupants are groups of women. The women always appear to enjoy talking with each other. The topic of conversation can be anything.

 Very seldom do I see similar groups of men.

I find it irritating that women often suggest that I join a men’s group, be it a hiking group, study group, or book club. I don’t think it’s a matter of them not wanting a male in their group. My opinion is that women think men are lonely if they don’t join some sort of men’s group.

I want to make this clear. I have no desire to join women’s groups any more than I want to join men’s groups. I join groups because of the nature of that group, not the gender of its members.

You should know that men have different reasons than women for socializing. Men use socializing as a means to an end (i.e. learning to knit or speak a foreign language) while women socialize because they are social at heart.

If you ask a man how many “true” friends he has made over his lifetime, you’re likely to get a reply of fewer than five. Men know many people related to work or volunteer activities, but they do not count them as “friends”, nor do they socialize with many of those acquaintances. Instead, they often prefer to do things alone or with their family. Men do not have the desire to be social, whether it is on an online social network or as part of a social group.  

 

About blueturtle7645

I love learning the Chinese language and reading about Chinese history and culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

