An Unexpected Benefit Resulting From Chats with My Chinese Friends

Several times a week I have online audio and video chats with my friends in China.
0013729e4ad909c590cb15

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m doing this to practice my verbal and listening language skills.

Jason's Family 001

Likewise my Chinese friends have an opportunity to practice English with their American friend.

Wen Qi 2008-12-12_035

Yesterday we were talking about the Chinese word 兴趣 (Xìngqù), meaning interest or hobby.

Old Shanghai 2008-12-13_016

My Chinese friend yesterday, what is the difference between “interest’ and
“hobby”.

Daisy

This was a very good question. I never thought about before.

WP_000502

“Interest” is the state of wanting to know or learn about something or someone whereas “hobby” is an activity done regularly in one’s leisure time for pleasure.

DSC02551

Do you see the difference?

Shopping district in Shenyang 002

I might be interested in what you say, but my desire to learn Chinese is more of a hobby, because it is something done in my leisure time.

?????????????????????

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is what was great about having Skype chats with my Chinese friends.

Not only do I learn more about Chinese, but I also learn more about my own language, English.

DSC00394

About blueturtle7645

I love learning the Chinese language and reading about Chinese history and culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

