“Shane”

Saw “Shane” tonight, recorded earlier on my DVR from TCM.
I was told that this 1953 movie starring Alan Ladd is one of the greatest westerns made.

The last time I saw this movie was in 1953 at the Avalon Theater in Chicago when I was 8 years old.

All I remember was this little boy calling “Shane, come back!” at the end of the movie.

After watching the movie tonight, I agree this is a great western.
This movie has one of the best barroom fights I’ve seen.
The photography is magnificent, the story and characters are well-played.

The sound track is typical of 1950’s films and dated.
The little boy who shouted “Shane, come back!” was annoying. He’s probably over 70 years old now.

Still, if you’re a movie buff like I am, this movie is worth seeing.

Here’s Roger Ebert’s review.
http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/great-movie-shane-1953

About blueturtle7645

I love learning the Chinese language and reading about Chinese history and culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

